John Feely was the architect for the preparation of the conservation strategy report for the development and reinstatement of this culturally important and unique bow fronted town house dating from the late Georgian Period. He collaborated closely with Waterford City Council, The Heritage Council of Ireland, Duchas, Irish Georgian Society, An Taisce, local historians and engineers to identify and record the significant architectural history and construction details. In addition he obbtained full planning permission for an acceptable use combining residential above and commercial on the ground floor. The building again plays a vital role as a cultural meeting place for art and trade in the city centre.
The historical core of Waterford, of which 33 the Mall is apart of, is now called The Viking Triangle and it is a triumphant statement of intent by the city's own architectural team for conservation of Ireland's oldest city.
The Building is recorded as the City’s Meeting House of The Young Islanders movement of 1848.
The Tricolour Flag of Ireland was designed in Paris by Waterford man Thomas Francis Meagher and was flown for the very first time in 1848 at the Wolf Tone Club, 33 The Mall. A patriot in Ireland and also in America where during the American Civil War he joined the 69th NY, ‘The Fighting Irish’, and founded the Irish Brigade. He died Governor of Montana.
“33 The Mall is a magnificent late Georgian building, once townhouse to the Carew Family with a Bow front, almost entirely glazed on its upper three storeys...”Published Irish Times : Waterford a city full of 18th Century architecture.